Today was awesome. Physics was a nonstop lecture because basically the
entire class will be out on Mon. for senior cut day. I had to keep
reminding Jeremy to copy notes he’d missed or to stay awake, like I
usually do, and he was like “What would I do without you?” Honestly, I
don’t know. Then I wrote “prom haikus” for Bridget, Amanda, and
Meredith and asked Jeremy to deliver it to them when he went to
Advanced Theater. He “awwed” at my title “Haikus. Seriously.” But
that’s okay, because I can deal with being sentimental. I find it
endearing.

Today Ms. Miers gave a speech about being careful at prom and then Dave
went in another classroom and yelled “I’m going to get so drunk
tonight!” Honestly, sometimes I think that no one listens to the
warnings anymore. I’d probably be worried as fuck about RJ but he’s not
going to prom. Probably staying home and getting completely fucked up
on a mix of pain killers, pot, and alcohol like he does every day of
the week. I told him and Matt that I’m worried enough for the both of
them, and although they thought this was sweet, they really don’t find
me valid in my fears. I’m sorry if RJ’s lips turning blue doesn’t freak
him out, but it worries ME. Some of the kids I know can be so stupid
sometimes, not even seniors in particular, and I’m seriously just
waiting for the day when some kid dies in a car accident while he was
high or drunk or dies of a drug overdose or alcohol poisioning. Even that
probably wouldn’t keep them from partying. They’d probably be scared
enough to stop for a week or so, but after that they’d resume their
normal party habits with the exception of a resolution to watch
eachother to make sure that they don’t die. Almost overdoing it to the
point of death is okay, though. I just can’t wrap my head around it. We
have a pretty decent school, with well-to-do families, and an amazing
future ahead of most of us, you’d think that everyone would have enough
sense to watch what they put in their bodies.

And yet, despite these somber ideas running through my head, I find
myself to be in a pretty peaceful mood. Siddhartha (as in the book
character, not Buddha) would be proud. Although I hope to see a movie
with my friends tonight, I would be content to settling down on the
couch with my “Dawson’s Creek” DVDs of various seasons. <3<3<3

1 thought on “”

  1. “We have a pretty decent school, with well-to-do families, and an amazing future ahead of most of us, you’d think that everyone would have enough sense to watch what they put in their bodies.”

    i think that everyone’s just bored with decent schools and families and most people don’t want to think about their futures.  in a town like flemington with absolutely nothing to do, i wouldn’t really expect much less out of people. 

    Like

Leave a Reply

